Grosse Pointe News

16980 Kercheval Pl. • Grosse Pointe, Michigan 48230 • 313.882.6900 • Monday-Friday 9am-4pm

Beaumont Grosse Pointe Golf Classic raises nearly $150,000 for cardiac careFree Access

From left, Christopher Koss, Mike Imbronone and Matt Buckley of event sponsor MGM Grand Detroit, with Grosse Pointe Farms Mayor Louie Theros.

Monday, July 26, the Grosse Pointe Classic was held at the Country Club of Detroit. Nearly $150,000 was raised at this annual event to benefit the renovation of the cardiac catheterization laboratory at Beaumont, Grosse Pointe. Golfers enjoyed the afternoon golfing the championship course designed by Harry S. Colt, along with lunch, cocktails, dinner, gifts and auction.

Christopher and Anne Blake of Grosse Pointe Farms were the 2021 event co-chairs. Christopher Blake is the vice chairman, Beaumont Health Board of Directors.

Heart care at Beaumont, Grosse Pointe has grown significantly the last 15 years. Since 2007, the hospital has focused on expanding the services it offers patients and the Grosse Pointe community, recruiting cardiovascular specialists to manage and conduct diagnostic and interventional cardiac catheterizations, including angioplasties which restore blood flow through narrow or blocked arteries.

The renovated lab will include advanced imaging equipment in the form of a C-arm X-ray system. The C-arm encircles the patient at different points throughout the catheterization procedure, providing real-time images to the surgical team. The system includes radiation safety measures to ensure the smallest amount of exposure possible for patients, physicians and technicians. The technology also integrates seamlessly with other equipment in the lab to provide real-time patient data throughout the procedure.

In addition, the renovation will include an extensive upgrade and redesign of the control room where clinicians monitor and support all patient care activity in the laboratory procedure area.

The 2021 Beaumont Hospital, Grosse Pointe Classic Committee included co-chairs          Christopher and Anne Blake, and committee members Connie Ahee, Tracy Carlson, David Cornillie, H. Richard Fruehauf, Julie Kaiser, Rob Kilpatrick, James P. Lynch, MD, Jackie Moon, Mary Deborah Naz, Liz Ottaway, Kevin Price, Marilyn Schneider, Roberta Simone and Steve Witkowski.