Source: Grosse Pointe News Online

SOCs October events

by the Grosse Pointe News

September 26, 2013

Services for Older Citizens offers a variety of classes, social opportunities, lunch and travel experiences. Lunch is served at 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. Call (313) 882-9600 for reservations. A $3 donation is suggested.

The following is a list of scheduled events for October.

“Fresh Flower” bingo — 10:15 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 1, Thursday, Oct. 3.

Oktoberfest — 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 4. John Needham provides the musical entertainment. The cost is $7. A German buffet is served. Fill out the activity sign-up sheet in the Communicator and mail or bring it in with your payment. Reservations are due by Friday, Sept. 27

Scenic Cruises of the World - Part 2 — 1 p.m. Monday, Oct. 7. The 60-minute film is shown on the third floor.

See Greece’s beaches, the Nile, Chile’s wild coast, Easter Island’s statues, Tahiti’s paradise, New Zealand, Australia, Fiji and Hawaii.

“Oktoberfest” bingo — 10:15 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 8.

“Spa” bingo — Tuesday, Oct. 15, and Thursday, Oct. 17.

Elder Law – Free Legal Presentation and Legal Assistance — 12:30 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 16, on the first floor. Katie Graham from Neighborhood Legal Services of Michigan. Following a legal presentation, a free consultation is available on the topics of guardianship, conservatorship, wills, trusts, powers of attorney, nursing homes, assisted living, senior housing, Medicaid and Medicare. Call SOC for an appointment.

Attendance to the general presentation is required prior to a private consultation.

“Halloween” bingo — 10:15 a.m. Tuesday, Oct. 22, and Thursday, Oct. 24.

Making Your Medications Work for You — noon Tuesday, Oct. 22. St. John Hospital and Medical Center’s pharmacy staff can review medications and answer questions.

Lunch and a movie — a pizza lunch is served at 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 25, The 2012 movie, “Lincoln” is shown at 1:30 p.m. on the third floor. A $3 donation is suggested for lunch and $2 for the movie. Call SOC for lunch and/or movie reservations.

Halloween party — 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 30. Attendees can wear a costume to the buffet and costume contest. Entertainment is provided by musician Don Stidham.

The cost is $7. Fill out the activity sign-up sheet in the Communicator and mail or bring it in with your payment.

Reservations are due by Thursday, Oct. 24.

“Celebrating the Colors of Fall” bingo — Tuesday, Oct. 29, and Thursday, Oct. 31.