flag image
Beline Obeid

Liggett names scholarship winners

Recipients of the Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship at University Liggett School are, from left, Natalie Caramagno, Hannah Hodges, Ellene Bricolas and Rayna Patel. Photo courtesy of Ron Bernas
September 26, 2013
Four University Liggett School students were honored with the Thelma Fox Murray Scholarship for the 2013-2014 school year.

Recipients are Ellene Bricolas, of Grosse Pointe Shores; Natalie Caramagno, of Grosse Pointe Woods; Hannah Hodges, of Harper Woods; and Rayna Patel, of Grosse Pointe Woods.

The Scholarship at Liggett is for students who display integrity, humility, a sense of humor, athletic achievement, academic excellence and leadership qualities. Students are selected by the school and scholarship trustee S. Gary Spicer Sr.

Murray left a lasting gift of personal commitment to education in her endowment gift to Liggett upon her death in 1987. Since that time, the scholarship has been awarded each year to deserving students.

Murray graduated from Liggett in 1917.

Family Center Ask the Experts 1
Grosse Pointe Chamber
Riverbank Theatre 3
Ed Rinke Right