flag image
July 11, 2013
Parcells Middle School announced recipients of its eighth grade student awards, which include the Fred W. Adams Award, Brian Michael Aulph Award and Presidents Award for Educational Excellence.

Candidates for the Fred W. Adams Award, presented in memory of the former board member “who had a lifetime commitment to education,” have demonstrated leadership in and out of school; a concern for others; a renaissance spirit, or desire for knowledge; and a commitment to educational pursuits.

Nine students were nominated for the award, with Lindsey Hoshaw and Ryan Cullen selected as winners.

Other nominees included: Christopher Cameron, Elizabeth Duus, Sarah Galbenski, Gina Peruzzi, Maxwell Stallings, Benjamin Zacharias and Megan Louwers, who received the Brian Michael Aulph Award.

Honoring the former Spanish teacher’s legacy, the award recognizes students for excellence in effort and attitude, those who “represent his courage and strength of character” through qualities of “courage, tenacity, rising to the challenge, enthusiasm, doing the right thing and 1’s and 2’s in conduct and work habits.”

A group of 13 students were selected for the U.S. Department of Education-sponsored Presidents Award, given to students with a minimum overall grade point average of 3.5 and who scored “advanced” in reading or mathematics on the MEAP test all three years at Parcells.

The following students earned the Presidents Award: Adam Berry, Jonathan Cameron, Ashley Carroll, Sarah Corbet, Sarah Galbenski, Lindsey Hoshaw, Clarissa Kam, Steven Levick, Erin McSkimming, Olivia Randazzo, Adam Schreck, Grace Sexton and Benjamin Sosnowski.

To read the rest of the story, log in or subscribe to the Grosse Pointe News >>

Family Center Ask the Experts 1
Jaguar Landrover 2
Fresh Farms-3
Capricious Left
Ed Rinke Right