flag image

Thespians earn high honors at state festival

December 13, 2012
A group of University Liggett School thespians participating in the Michigan Educational Theatre Association’s festival Saturday and Sunday, Dec. 1 and 2, returned to school having earned a collection of honors.

Several students received “Superior” ratings, the highest of the festival. They were: Sean and Patrick Diaz, duet acting; Margot Alpert and Henry Duhaime, duet musical theater; Robert Babcock, lighting design; Alec Josaitis, monologue; Rosie DeRoo, monologue; Aaron Robertson, playwriting; Sean Diaz, short film; Andrew Amine, short film; Caleb and Elisha Sword, short film; Nina White, solo musical theater; Stella Gatzke, solo musical theater; Kristin Schick, stage management; and Beth Ottosen, scenic design.

The following students earned “Excellent” ratings: Blair Blackwell and Julia Kaiser, duet acting; Kirby Rocha, Autumn Buyssee and John Peterson, group acting; Cherish Lott, monologue; Armaity Minwalla, solo musical theater; and Jacqueline Kopicki, solo dance.

Babcock also earned a Thespian Scholarship, given to the top 10 students in the festival.

To read the rest of the story, log in or subscribe to the Grosse Pointe News >>

Family Center Ask the Experts 1
Spectrum Pine Ridge Garfield 2
Jaguar Landrover 3
Ed Rinke Left
Renaissance Restoration-Right