flag image
October 17, 2013
CITY OF GROSSE POINTE — This year’s beautification award winners consist of 12 residential and two commercial property owners.

“Beautification awards are always a highlight,” said City of Grosse Pointe Mayor Dale Scrace. “The quality of improvements people make to their homes and businesses continues to speak to the beautiful surroundings we have.”

Winners are chosen annually by members of the Grosse Pointe Beautification Commission.

Members are assigned to search each section of the city and nominate properties they feel deserve special recognition.

“Award winners are enhancing the overall look of our community,” Scrace said. “We appreciate it so much. They’re helping keep property values up and the standards we’ve come to expect.”

Winners announced at an Oct. 8, ceremony at City Hall are:


4 Charles Street, Phillip Abbot,

6 Charles Street, Jay and Christine Kaiser,

729 Fisher, Timothy Swanson,

999 Fisher, Ron and Barbara Babb,

580 Lakeland, John and Deborah Russell,

612 Lakeland, Bruce and Janice MacRitchie,

879 Lakeland Court, Naeem Sattar and Jill McDonald,

509 Lincoln, Robert and Barbara Karle,

646 Lincoln, Gary and Mary Jane Failla,

510 Notre Dame, Jonathan and Susan Walton,

744 Rivard, Gregory Altland and Colleen Murphy and

748 Washington, Michael and Nicole DiMuzio.


Dave’s Haircutting, Dave Brown, 395 Fisher and

Chez Lou Lou, Danielle Hubler and Gib Rist, 16900 Kercheval.

The beautification commission is chaired by Susan Hartz. Susan Budrys is vice chair. Members are Suzanne Antonelli, Regina Gersch, Andy Hartz, Jeff Petersen, Betsy Rowe, Mary Scrace, Derek Stratelak and Peggy Woodhouse.

— Brad Lindberg

To read the rest of the story, log in or subscribe to the Grosse Pointe News >>

Family Center Ask the Experts 1
The Hill-2
Jaguar Landrover 3
Ed Rinke Right